DS18B20 LoRaWAN 1-Wire Bridge

LoRa-based query of up to 20 temperature sensors (One-Wire ® bus)

The Lobaro Onewire over LoRaWAN Bridge

The Lobaro 1-wire ® LoRaWAN Bridge is a low-cost & low-power Lora-based (temperature) sensor to monitor the measured values of a wired Onewire buses and to read them out via LoRa or LoRaWAN networks (e.g. TheThingsNetwork) to the Internet at low cost via radio. The Lobaro Bridge allows the simultaneous query & power supply of up to 20 sensors installed in parallel (e.g. DS18B20 temperature sensors) on the wired bus.

Our LoRaWAN Bridge enables connections to the Internet with ranges of up to 5 kilometers between the transmitter and the gateway antenna - without the mobile radio costs usually incurred in classic machine-to-machine (M2M) applications. Also, unlike with mobile radio, it is easy to install your own LoRaWAN gateways.

Please also contact us if you need our bridge with a mobile radio connection via NB-IoT (Narrowband-IoT) or LTE instead of LoRaWAN. We are happy to carry out such customer-specific adaptations as part of a cost-efficient adaptation.

Configuration is user-friendly via the Lobaro Tool (Windows, Linux, Mac).

DS18B20 LoRa temperature sensor

Background Onewire Bus / DS18b20

The One-Wire Bus from the company maxim integrated is a serial connection for implementing wired star-shaped sensor networks. A maximum of three lines (VCC, GND and DQ) are required between the sensors and the querying bus master (such as the Lobaro LoRaWAN Onewire Bridge). The data line is used bidirectionally for both sending and receiving data. Sensor buses set up with OneWire can be several hundred meters long and support a large number of sensors or bus devices installed in parallel.

The best-known Onewire sensor is the DS18B20 from Maxim Integrated. This is a digital temperature sensor with an accuracy of +- 0.5 °C and a measuring range of -55 °C to 125 °C. Such sensors are also available at low cost in robust waterproof metal sleeves (< 5 EUR) are available. With the Lobaro Bridge, up to 20 temperature sensors installed in parallel can be queried on a time-controlled basis and the current measured values can be forwarded wirelessly to the Internet for further processing.

Key data / Key facts

  • Radio technology
    LoRaWAN 1.0.1 radio protocol
    On request: NB-IoT/LTE
  • Power supply 
    2x AA batteries (1.5V)
    Generates 3V for sensor supply
  • Compatible OW sensors
    Successful operation tested with:
    a) DS18B20 temperature sensor
    b) DHT22 humidity sensors
  • Query configuration
    Time-controlled via "CRON job"
  • Antenna
    Internal 868 MHz PCB
    Alternatively, external antenna possible.
  • Housing
    114.30mm (w) x 59.30mm (l) x 26.80mm (h)
    Waterproof, IP65,
    OEM board possible
  • LoRaWAN stack
    LobaWAN 1.0.1
    Licensing possible!
  • Conformity
    CE, RoHS, WEEE

DS18B20 LoRaWAN – Temperatur Sensor Bus

LoRa basierte Abfrage von bis zu 20 Temperatur Sensoren (Onewire)

Die Lobaro Onewire over LoRaWAN Bridge

Die Lobaro 1-wire LoRaWAN Bridge ist ein kostengünstiger & energiesparsamer Lora basierter (Temperatur) Sensor, um die Messwerte eines kabelgebundenen Onewire-Busses auszulesen und über LoRa bzw. LoRaWAN Netzwerke (z.B. TheThingsNetwork) kostengünstig per Funk ins Internet zu übertragen. Hierbei erlaubt die Lobaro Bridge die gleichzeitige Abfrage & Stromversorgung von bis zu 20 parallel installierten Sensoren (z.B. DS18B20 Temperatursensoren) auf dem kabelgebundenen Bus.

Unsere LoRaWAN Bridge erlaubt Verbindungen ins Internet mit Reichweiten bis zu 5 Kilometern zwischen Sender und Gateway-Antenne – ohne die üblicherweise anfallenden Mobilfunkkosten in klassischen Maschine to Maschine (M2M) Anwendungen. Auch können, anders als beim Mobilfunk, leicht eigene LoRaWAN-Gateways installiert werden.

Kontaktieren Sie uns auch, wenn Sie statt LoRaWAN unsere Bridge mit Mobilfunk Anbindung über NB-IoT (Narrowband-IoT) oder LTE benötigen. Derartige kundenspezifische Anpassungen führen wir gerne im Rahmen einer kosteneffizienten Adaption durch.

Die Konfiguration erfolgt benutzerfreundlich über das Lobaro Tool (Windows, Linux, Mac).

DS18B20 LoRa Temperatur Sensor

Hintergrund Onewire Bus / DS18b20

Der OneWire Bus ist eine serielle Schnittstelle zur Realisierung von kabelgebundenen Sensornetzwerken. Hierbei werden höchstens drei Leitungen (VCC, GND und DQ) zwischen den Sensoren und dem abfragenden Busmaster (wie z.B. der Lobaro LoRaWAN Onewire Bridge) benötigt. Die Datenleitung wird hierbei bidirektional sowohl zum Senden als auch Empfangen von Daten verwendet. Mit OneWire aufgebaute Sensorbusse können mehrere hundert Meter lang sein und unterstützten eine große Anzahl von parallel installierten Sensoren bzw. Busteilnehmern.

Der bekannteste Onewire Sensor ist der DS18B20 der Fa. Maxim Integrated. Hierbei handelt es sich um einen digitalen Temperatursensor mit einer Genauigkeit von +- 0.5 °C und einem Messbereich von -55 °C bis 125 °C. Derartige Sensoren sind auch in robusten wasserdichten Metallhülsen kostengünstig (< 5 EUR) verfügbar. Mit der Lobaro Bridge können bis zu 20 parallel installierter Temperatursensoren zeitgesteuert abgefragt werden und die aktuellen Messwerte per Funk ins Internet zur weiteren Verarbeitung weitergeleitet werden.

DS18B20 LoRaWAN Onewire Sensor

Eckdaten / Key Facts

  • Funktechnik
    LoRaWAN 1.0.2 Funkprotokoll
    Auf Anfrage: NB-IoT/LTE
  • Stromversorgung 
    2x AA Batterien (1.5V)
    Generiert 3V für Sensorversorgung
  • Kompatible OW-Sensoren
    Erfolgreicher Betrieb gestestet mit:
    a) DS18B20 Temperatursensor
    b) DHT22 Luftfeuchtesensoren
  • Abfrage Konfiguration
    Zeitgesteuert per „CRON-Job“
  • Antenne
    Intern 868 MHz PCB
    Alternativ externe Antenne möglich.
  • Gehäuse
    114,30mm (b) x 59,30mm (l) x 26,80mm (h)
    Wasserfest, IP67,
    OEM Platine möglich
  • LoRaWAN Stack
    LobaWAN 1.0.2
    Lizenzierung möglich!
  • Zertifizierungen
    CE, RoHS, WEEE